Madame Nhu

Critic Reviews

Broadsheet - "[Madame Nhu] serves some of the best pho in Sydney – no easy feat considering the vast number of contenders." - Source: BroadsheetSurry Hills

Daily Telegraph, Sydney's Best 25 lunches for $25 & under - "Madame Nhu: Hot, quick and delicious — pho ticks all the boxes when it comes to lunch" Source: Daily Telegraph 14/10/14

20 Of Sydney's Best Healthy Dinners - "Legendary phở, with toppings like tiger prawn, Maryland chicken, grass-fed brisket or roasted duck, will nourish your insides." Source: Urban List, Nov 2014

Good Food Guide Under 30 2014 - "Suave, sophisticated, seductive... Surry Hills' best-kept secret (for now anyway)" (Surry Hills) - 2014 edition

Concrete Playground: "For a cheap, fast lunch that doesn't compromise on flavour or style, you can't go past Madame Nhu. The signature dac biet pho features three styles of beef and mountains of deliciously slipperly rice noodles in a flavoursome beef broth." - Source: The Ten Best Sydney CBD Lunches

Two Thousand Sydney: "The food and booze ... is cheaper and far more delicious than most of the modern Vietnamese tuckshop empires that have opened recently... The menu includes summer goi cuon summer rolls, baby banh mi, salads and then the most super duper pho i've had in ages." - Marissa Shirbin (reviewing Surry Hills). Source: Two Thousand Sydney

Sydney Morning Herald 2013: "Restaurant-quality Vietnamese at food court prices: An eatery by the team behind top-notch Surry Hills restaurant Xage, the small, licensed seating area makes a sweet escape from the rest of the food court. A tenner can buy a range of tasty dishes..." (Town Hall) - Read more: Source: Top 10 lunches for $10 or less, 2013

Sydney Morning Herald - by Kylie Kwong: "At Madame Nhu, the classic Vietnamese pho (rice-noodle soup) gets glammed up with thick slices of grass-fed Tasmanian beef brisket swimming in an aromatic mahogany-hued broth." (Town Hall), Read more: SMH Food Halls recommended by Kylie Kwong

The Daily Telegraph: "I've yet to see a busier kitchen than Madame Nhu's where, on a wet Tuesday, seven chefs in a tiny space accommodated an onslaught of lunchtime diners... Verdict: Friendly staff dishing up cheap, tasty and authentic street food." 10 December 2011 - Read Full Review (PDF) (Town Hall)

TimeOut Sydney: "Definitely a contender for the crown of best inner-city lunchtime pho... Madame Nhu is a blessing for city workers and just the ticket for fresh summer snacking." December 2011 - Read Full Review (PDF) (Town Hall)

Urban List - The A-List: For Vietnamese lovers, look no further than Madame Nhu. For just $8.90 you can choose from a delicious selection of fresh summer rolls, such as honey tofu, marinated beef, and pulled pork. Read more: The A-List of CBD Cheap Eats Under $10

5 of the Best - "We recently wrote about the new Madame Nhu and now there's another reason to revisit this temptress..." Source: Read more: Urban Society (19/4/13)

Also featured on...

Concrete Playground, Best Restaurants of Australia, Urban Society ...

Food Blogs

Street food brilliance: "Madame Nhu offers the best food court lunches I have ever had and their flagship restaurant in Surry Hills brings Vietnamese street food brilliance into a wonderful modernised venue." - Jason King (reviewed 2016) Spooning Australia

20 Great Noodle Bars in Sydney: "Eating at Madame Nhu would tell you much about the colonial history of Vietnam..." SydneyCafes

Spooncubed review: "Madame Nhu is in a small split-level space in Surry Hills which chef/owner Nhu Nguyen designed herself and calls 'a work of love'." SpoonCubed

'Authentic street food': "The (pho) broth was addictive and had a well defined flavour. ... Madame Nhu brings an authentic Vietnamese Street food experience with a classy modern touch to the heart Sydney." DTF (6/8/14)

Got my vote!: "Pho is a common dish in Sydney but it can be a hard one to master. This signature Classic Pho Noodle Soup was fragrant with silky smooth noodles and generous pieces of tender beef in a beautiful clear broth" Got My Vote!

'Best salt & pepper squid': "All the main courses were delicious: crispy yet tender squid - this was probably the nicest salt & pepper squid I have had in a VERY long time ...." Out of the Office

'Perfect for a rainy Week': What is also a nice touch is the fact that they use 100% Darling Downs and Tasmanian beef!" Food Fable (6/6/14)

'All amazing! I love it!': If you follow me on instagram, you have probably realised I’ve been to Madame Nhu quite a few times… I LOVE IT THERE!! What the Fork Should I Eat (19/3/14)

'Great vibe, delicious salad': "The bun bo grilled beef salad was absolutely delicious. It was fresh, light, flavoursome, the meat was amazingly seasoned, the noodles perfectly cooked and cooled and (once again) the serving portions were just right." HulloHelen (7/2/14)

'Charming, affordable & friendly': "This tiny eatery with indoor and outdoor seating knows how to pack a crowd. ... Madame Nhu is a charming eatery. Casual and affordable, the dishes are generous in size and flavour, and service is friendly and efficient." Read more: Gourmantic (22/5/13)

'Generous and tasty': "Apart from their delicious pho, Madame Nhu also serves up other popular Vietnamese street food... we were impressed ... it is pretty rare to see restaurant standard dishes being replicated in the fast service environment..." Read more: Excuse me Waiter (27/4/13)

It's all about 'portion, flavour and quality': I’ve been to Vietnam and it’s great to travel throughout the country and try truly authentic Vietnamese food but believe me it’s better in Australia. The portion sizes, flavour and the quality of the beef Phở here trumps, but be sure to eat it at ‘authentic’ Phở restaurants, like here at Madame Nhu Surry Hills. Read more: Ms Brulee

'Service is lovely and fast': The service is lovely and fast… But from this large image on the wall (of who I assume is Madame Nhu), I imagine she was a badass in the “eat-my-Pho-or-die-motherf*cker” kind of way." Read more: Eat & Sleep 101

'Unbelievably generous!': This was the first time I’ve ever had real Vietnamese food, and suffice to say, I was loving it. I was so delighted by my new experience that I went back the next day for more. Read more: Confessions of a Glutton

Gourmantic: "This tiny eatery with indoor and outdoor seating knows how to pack a crowd. ... Madame Nhu is a charming eatery. Casual and affordable, the dishes are generous in size and flavour, and service is friendly and efficient."

When the World Stops Spinning: "It’s very rare that I have three ♥’s but it is well deserving! The [pho] rice noodles are silky and lots of fun to slurp, the soup base is flavoursome ... but that’s not where my ♥’s are going. The real winner of this dish is the beef! ... the tenderest most delicious spice-infused Tasmanian grass-fed beef brisket ♥♥♥"

The Random Foodie: "This is one of the better restaurants I have tasted in the Sydney CBD. ...The service was good and quick and the prices are affordable especially since the servings are big."

He Needs Food

Simon Food Favourites

Social Media